Sound of Silent Film Festival Tenth Anniversary

ACM’s popular Sound of Silent Film Festival – now in its ninth year! –  features newly composed scores performed live to modern silent films.  This year’s festival features short dramas, comedies and experimental films from exciting young filmmakers around the world, all with new scores by our composer members.

We’re thrilled to be moving the festival this year to the historic Music Box Theater on Southport!  The Music Box is one of Chicago’s premiere theaters for arthouse cinema. It’s gorgeous interior, state of the art faciilites and sterling reputation make it the perfect fit for the Sound of Silent Film Festival.

– See more at:

Sound of Silent Film is turning 10! We’re celebrating with an all new crop of modern silent films from directors around the world. Each film has been scored by one of our composer members and the scores will be performed live in the beautiful Music Box Theater.

The festival features the World Premiere screening of Iranian filmmaker Mohammad Zare’s Junk Girl, inspired by a Tim Burton poem of the same name.  Due to strictures on the film industry from the Iranian government this film has never been publicly screened and has never had a musical score. Rob Steel’s new score is the first time music has been put to the film and it will be performed live!

We’re also screening six other brilliant modern silent films from around the world, all with music performed live. Don’t miss this one-night only performance!
Music Box Theater
3733 N. Southport Ave.
$20 door, $12 online, $8 students and seniors

Marquee by Brian Zahm
– music by Oren Boneh

Junk Girl by Mohammad Zare
– music by Rob Steel

Hitclown by Chris Mancini
– music by Brian Baxter


Pillow Girl by Ronnie Cramer
– music by Andrew Tham

Burial by Jon Paul Burkhart
– music by Jeffery Thomas

Into the Cave of Wonders by Manuel Benito de Valle
– music by Elizabeth Start

The West Begins at 5th Avenue by Donald Gray and Kryssa Schemmerling
– music by Joseph Buccheit


Read Film Synopses
Read the Offical Press Release
Alyson Berger – cello
Nathan Bojko – percussion
Sebastian Huydts – piano
Christie Miller – clarinet
Trevor Watkin – flute
Jeff Yang – violin