Sounds From the Floating World

The culmination of our summer-long collaboration with dynamic Japanese composer Tomohisa Hashimoto, this concert will feature the World Premiere of the new piece he composed for us. We’ll also perform the music of other contemporary Japanese composers.

Mr. Hashimoto will be at the concert and he and the performers will talk to audience members after the concert. Come explore the fascinating landscape that is contemporary music in Japan.

Sunday, October 17 2010 3:00 PM
Loyola University Museum of Art
820 N. Michigan Ave.
$20, $12 online, $5 students and seniors
773 334 3650

Lied by Toshio Hosokawa
Root by Tomohisa Hashimoto (U.S. Premiere)
The Castle of Duino by Tomiko Kohjiba
Solitude In Memorium T.T. by Joji Yuasa
by Kaoru Koyama
Tsuchi-gumo Overture by Tomohisa Hashimoto (World Premiere)

Hülya Alpakin – piano
Alyson Berger – cello
Robin Clevenger – French horn
Alicia Poot – flute
KT Somero – clarinet
Amy Wurtz – piano
Jeff Yang – violin