New Beginnings

New Beginnings is an exciting collaboration between ACM and the MAVerick Ensemble celebrating the legacy of the Chicago Composers Forum who will be suspending operations in 2012. After years of supporting Chicago-based composers with performance opportunities, support and resources, the end of the Chicago Composer’s Forum could leave a gap in Chicago’s new music scene.

But, instead, CCF members will be rolled into ACM’s membership program starting in January of 2012 and this concert is a showcase of their diverse work. The $5 ticket price includes a year-long membership for composers who were not part of the composers forum so this is an excellent opportunity for composers to plug into emerging ACM’s global community of composers, performers and audience members.

Sunday, December 4 2011 3:00 PM
Fine Arts Building, Curtiss Hall
410 S. Michigan Ave., 10th floor
$5, free for students and seniors
773 334 3650

Clarinet Sonata by William Jason Raynovich
Devil’s Lake by David Drexler
Tae-Pyung-Ga II by Eun Young Lee
Vanishing Points/Quantum Leaps by Janice Misurell-Mitchell
For Instance Mozart by Pablo Chin
Winter Solstice by Mike McFerron


Hülya Alpakin – piano
Alyson Berger – cello
Andrea DiOrio – clarinet
Blagomira Lipari – violin
Christie Miller – clarinet
William Jason Raynovich – cello
Mark Sudeith – piano