Music of Patricia Morehead

Accessible Contemporary Music presents a concert honoring Chicago composer, performer, ensemble leader and all-around new music patroness extraordinaire Patricia Morehead, which will feature two World Premieres.

Pieces to be performed include Just Before the Rain (2000) for clarinet, cello and mandolin, Handmaid’s Tale (1998) for two pianos, The Edible Flute (1993), and two World Premieres, a string quartet and a mixed ensemble piece for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano and percussion written especially for ACM.

“Patricia Morehead has done so much for the new music community in Chicago, that we felt it would be perfect if this year’s Music of Women Composers concert featured her music exclusively,” says ACM Executive Director (and former composition student of Patricia’s) Seth Boustead.

“The first performance of my music in Chicago came from a concert that Pat helped put together,” says former student Madi Torruella. “Pat is simply one of the most generous, helpful and wonderful people in the musical community in Chicago.”


Friday, May 4 2007 7:00 PM
Merit School of Music
38 S. Peoria
The Edible Flute
Pulsars and Tango (World Premiere)
It’s Dangerous to Read Newspapers
The Handmaid’s Tale
Variations for Solo Piano
Salome’s Dance (World Premiere)


Hülya Alpakin – piano
Alyson Berger – cello
Nathan Bojko – percussion
Daniel Golden – viola
Nicholas Gutierrez – piano
Ayako Kikuchi – violin
Agnieszka Kozlovska – violin
Barbara Ann Martin – soprano
Philip Morehead – piano/conductor
Matt Peters – marimba
Jared Rekkin – flute
KT Somero – clarinet